Robbinsville Township Government



The duly elected mayor is the Chief Executive Officer of the Township. Under Robbinsville Township's nonpartisan Mayor-Council Form of Government, the Mayor exercises the executive powers of the municipality.

Specific functions of the Mayor include enforcement of municipal ordinances, supervision of all municipal departments; supervision of municipal property and to appoint the directors of each department with the advice and consent of the Council. (Each director shall serve during the term of office of the Mayor and until the appointment and qualification of a successor).

The Mayor also maintains oversight of personnel and purchasing procedures, preparation of the municipal operating and capital budgets, and negotiation of contracts subject to Council approval. The Mayor serves as an ex-officio, non-voting member of all appointive bodies of which he is not an official voting member. The Mayor also may attend Council meetings and take part in discussions, propose legislation and veto ordinances, subject to override by a two-thirds majority of the entire Council.

Council adopts the annual budget of the Township as well as salary ordinances for all department directors, Township employees, and salaries which are required by law to be fixed by ordinance. The Council relates to Township staff through the Mayor or designee (generally the Business Administrator). For more detailed information on the Mayor and Council duties see the Township Codebook on the homepage.

© 2024 • Robbinsville Township, NJ • 2298 Route 33, Robbinsville, NJ 08691 • (609) 259-3600
Regular Hours of Operation: 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (Monday - Friday)
Construction Department: 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. (Monday - Friday)

Powered By Revize Login